Skip to main content

Accurx Neighbourhoods: Messaging from the Shared Patient List

How to message professionals and patients, and view conversations, from your Neighbourhood's Shared Patient List.

Written by Kei

This article explains how to message from your Neighbourhood's Shared Patient List. If you're new to Accurx Neighbourhoods, start with this article: Accurx Neighbourhoods: An overview

Accurx Neighbourhoods is currently only available to select Integrated Neighbourhood Teams. If you're interested in piloting, please sign up here đŸ‘šâ€đŸ‘©â€đŸ‘§â€đŸ‘Š


🧑‍🧑‍🧒‍🧒 How to message professionals within the Neighbourhood

You can message other teams in your Neighbourhood that use Accurx, and people who don't use Accurx (such as social care, council or voluntary sector staff) using their email address.

1. On the Shared Patient List, select the three dots next to the intended patient, followed by "Message professionals".

2. Select the participants of the conversation by clicking on the "To" field. All teams within the Neighbourhood will appear here. You will also see the patient's GP practice labelled.

To add someone who doesn't use Accurx, type their full email address into the "To" field and click on the search result.

3. Compose the message, and select a folder in the inbox for the responses to come back into (by default, the responses will be assigned to come back to the sender).

Note: If you're using the Accurx Desktop toolbar and the patient is registered within your clinical system, there will also be an option to save the message to the patient records.

4. Recipients who use Accurx will receive the message as a "Professional" conversation within a dedicated team inbox, which will have the same name as the Shared Patient List, and will be able to reply to the conversation as needed.

Messaging people who don't use Accurx

Non-Accurx users added by email address receive an email with a secure link to the conversation in the Accurx Conversation Portal. They don't need an Accurx account or an NHS.net email address. In the portal, they can:

  • Sign in using a one-time code sent to their email.

  • Read the conversation, reply and add attachments.

  • Only see the conversations they've been added to.

They'll receive an email each time there's a new message, with a link back to the portal. Their replies appear in the conversation for everyone.

Note:

  • You can only add people who don't use Accurx when you start a new conversation.

  • Once added, they can see the messages in that conversation.

  • They need an email address to be added.

  • They must reply to the conversation via the Accurx Neighbourhoods Conversation Portal, not the direct email.

This article (Accurx Neighbourhoods: Conversation Portal for non-Accurx users) runs through how non-Accurx users can access Neighbourhood conversations via the Conversation Portal. Share this with anyone outside Accurx, so they know what to expect before they get their first message.


đŸ“© How to message a patient within the Shared Patient List

1. On the Shared Patient List, select the three dots next to the intended patient, followed by "Message patient".

2. Compose the message, as you would a standard Accurx message (you can use templates, questionnaires, allow a reply, and include attachments).

3. Hit "Send" to send the message straight away, or select the arrow button to schedule the message for another time.

Note: If you're using the Accurx Desktop toolbar and the patient is registered within your clinical system, there will also be an option to save the message to the patient records.


🔎 Viewing conversations from the Shared Patient List

1. On the Shared Patient List, select "View conversations" for the intended patient.

2. The Accurx inbox will open, filtered to a view for:

  • Professional conversations just for this patient

  • "Message neighbourhood" button to send a "Message professionals" message to other teams within the Neighbourhood Shared Patient List.

  • "Sent" tab to show all outbound conversations.


🧠 Frequently Asked Questions

Can I message someone who doesn’t use Accurx?

Yes, you can add people who don’t use Accurx, such as social care, council or voluntary sector staff, using their email address when you select “Message professionals”. They’ll get an email with a secure link to read and reply to the conversation in the Accurx Conversation Portal, without needing an Accurx account.

Where will other Accurx-using teams in my Neighbourhood receive my message?

Teams that use Accurx receive the message as a “Professional” conversation within a dedicated team inbox, which will have the same name as the Shared Patient List.

Where do replies to my message go?

Replies go to the inbox folder you selected when composing the message. By default, the responses will be assigned to come back to the sender.

Who can see a professional conversation?

Everyone added to the conversation can see it, including the Neighbourhood teams and any email contacts you included. People who don’t use Accurx can only see the conversations they’ve been added to.

Can people who don’t use Accurx reply by replying to the email?

No, replies to the notification email aren’t delivered. Non-Accurx users must select “Reply” in the email to open the Conversation Portal and reply there.


If you have any further questions or feedback, please get in touch with our support team using the message bubble in the bottom right-hand corner of this page 👉

Did this answer your question?