This article explains how to open your Neighbourhood's Shared Patient List and how to manage the patients on it. If you're new to Accurx Neighbourhoods, start with this article: Accurx Neighbourhoods: An overview
Accurx Neighbourhoods is currently only available to select Integrated Neighbourhood Teams. If you're interested in piloting, please sign up here 👨👩👧👦
👷 How to set up and access a Neighbourhood Shared Patient List
Neighbourhood Shared Patient Lists are currently configured by the Accurx team rather than being self-serve. If you're interested in piloting, please sign up here.
The Accurx team will create the Neighbourhood Shared Patient List, add all requested workspaces and assign the workspace roles.
Once configured, approved users within each workspace can access the list:
🧑🧑🧒🧒 Care teams: Who can see each patient on the Neighbourhood Shared Patient List
Each patient on the Neighbourhood Shared Patient List has a care team. This is the set of workspaces involved in that patient's care, and only those workspaces can see the patient on the list.
Setting patient visibility ensures that Neighbourhood workspaces only see patients under their care, reducing potential confusion and clinical concerns about sharing sensitive patient information.
| Owner and Editor workspaces | Viewer workspaces |
Which patients can they see? | Every patient on the Neighbourhood Shared Patient List | Only patients whose care team includes their workspace |
Can they change a patient's care team? | ✅ Yes | ❌ No |
To see which workspaces are in your Neighbourhood Shared Patient List:
Each Neighbourhood Shared Patient List consists of one Owner workspace, plus one or more Editor and Viewer workspaces.
Access is granted at the workspace level, and not at the user level, meaning all approved users within a member workspace can view the Shared Patient List.
To see which workspaces are part of a Neighbourhood list:
Open the Neighbourhood Shared Patient List.
Select the "Care team" button.
You will see the list of workspaces, including the Editor workspaces labelled.
(Owners and Editors only) Setting Patient Visibility from the Shared Patient List
Patient visibility can be set up when patients are added to the Shared Patient List, but it can also be amended from the Shared Patient List after the patients are added:
1. From the Shared Patient List, click on the pencil icon under the "Care team" column for the individual patient you want to change the patient visibility for.
2. To amend the patient visibility for multiple patients at once, select the tick box for the patients, and then select "Edit care teams".
3. Tick/untick to determine which workspaces the patient(s) are visible for, and then hit "Save" to save the changes.
📤 (Owner and Editor workspaces only) Adding Patients to the Neighbourhood Shared Patient List and Setting Visibility
Note: Viewer workspaces cannot add or remove patients from the Shared Patient List. Only the Owner and Editor workspaces can add or remove patients.
If you're in a Viewer workspace and a patient needs to be added or removed, ask someone in an Owner or Editor workspace to do it.
| Owner and Editor workspaces | Viewer workspaces |
Add patients | ✅ Yes | ❌ No |
Remove patients or clear the list | ✅ Yes | ❌ No |
Owner workspaces can add patients individually by searching the NHS Personal Demographics Service (PDS) or in bulk via CSV upload.
Adding patients individually
Adding patients individually
1. When viewing a patient list, select the "Add" button, followed by the "Search for a patient" option.
2. Search for the patient using their NHS number and date of birth. This search is verified against the NHS Personal Demographics Service.
3. Select the patient from the results to add them to the patient list.
4. Set the care team for the patient: This determines the patient's visibility to Neighbourhood workspaces. Patients' care team visibility can be updated any time after the patient is uploaded to the Shared Patient List.
Setting patient visibility ensures that Neighbourhood workspaces only see patients under their care, reducing potential confusion and clinical concerns about sharing sensitive patient information.
5. Once you're happy with the patient care team visibility, add the patient to the Shared Patient List via the "Add patient with set care teams" option.
Bulk uploading via a CSV file
Bulk uploading via a CSV file
1. When viewing a patient list, select the "Add" button, followed by the "Upload a file" option.
2. You'll be prompted to upload a CSV file containing the patient details (NHS number and date of birth).
To ensure a successful upload, your file must meet these strict criteria:
Column Order: If the first two columns are not the two listed below, the whole file will be rejected.
First column must be NHS number
Second column must be Date of birth.
Validation: Every row must have a valid NHS number and a date of birth (formats: DD/MM/YYYY, D/M/YYYY, or YYYY-MM-DD).
Duplicates: No duplicate NHS numbers within a single upload.
File Format: Must be a .csv file and under 3 MB.
Maximum Bulk Upload: 1,000 patients per bulk upload. If your cohort is larger, you should split your CSV into multiple files.
If not all criteria are met, you will see an error message asking you to fix the specific rows and try uploading again.
3. After an upload, you'll see a summary of how many patients were added, and which were not added (with the reason).
Every patient is verified against the NHS PDS. Patients who can't be verified are not added, and you'll be shown why (e.g. patient not found on PDS, or patient is deceased). Only successfully verified patients appear on the list (with their name and demographics pulled from PDS).
4. Set the care team for the patients: This determines the patients' visibility to Neighbourhood workspaces. Patients' care team visibility can be updated any time after the patient is uploaded to the Shared Patient List.
Setting patient visibility ensures that Neighbourhood workspaces only see patients under their care, reducing potential confusion and clinical concerns about sharing sensitive patient information.
You can set a patient's care team visibility individually 👇
Or set patient care team visibility in bulk 👇
5. Once you're happy with the patient care team visibility, add the patients to the Shared Patient List via the "Add patients with set care teams" option.
Bulk uploading via manual entry
Bulk uploading via manual entry
1. When viewing a patient list, select the "Add" button, followed by the "Add patients manually" option.
2. Input the patient details: One patient per line, listing NHS number and date of birth.
Every row must have a valid NHS number and a date of birth (formats: DD/MM/YYYY, D/M/YYYY, or YYYY-MM-DD).
This search is verified against the NHS Personal Demographics Service.
3. After an upload, you'll see a summary of how many patients were added, and which were not added (with the reason).
Every patient is verified against the NHS PDS. Patients who can't be verified are not added, and you'll be shown why (e.g. patient not found on PDS, or patient is deceased). Only successfully verified patients appear on the list (with their name and demographics pulled from PDS).
4. Set the care team for the patients: This determines the patients' visibility to Neighbourhood workspaces. Patients' care team visibility can be updated any time after the patient is uploaded to the Shared Patient List.
Setting patient visibility ensures that Neighbourhood workspaces only see patients under their care, reducing potential confusion and clinical concerns about sharing sensitive patient information.
You can set a patient's care team visibility individually 👇
Or set patient care team visibility in bulk 👇
5. Once you're happy with the patient care team visibility, add the patients to the Shared Patient List via the "Add patients with set care teams" option.
🧠 Frequently Asked Questions
Can a Viewer workspace add a patient to the Shared Patient List if the Owner or Editor workspaces are unavailable?
Can a Viewer workspace add a patient to the Shared Patient List if the Owner or Editor workspaces are unavailable?
No, only the Owner and Editor workspaces have the permissions to modify the Shared Patient List. If the list needs updating, a user from the Owner or Editor workspace must perform the action.
How many patients can an Owner workspace bulk upload at once?
How many patients can an Owner workspace bulk upload at once?
There is a limit of 1,000 patients per bulk upload. If your cohort is larger, you should split your CSV into multiple files.
If you have any further questions or feedback, please get in touch with our support team using the message bubble in the bottom right-hand corner of this page 👉




















