Learn why you might see the test patient experience instead of being able to search for real patients, and how your organisation can gain full access to Accurx messaging features
To ensure the highest standards of data safety, some Accurx users in trust organisations may now see a Test Patient Experience when searching for patients or using certain messaging features in Accurx. This change came into effect on 21st April 2026.
This article explains what this means for you and how to gain access to message patients.
How can my organisation get a data processing agreement with Accurx?
To unlock real patient messaging, your organisation needs an active Data Processing Agreement (DPA) with Accurx. This ensures that all patient data is handled in line with the highest security and compliance standards.
What you can do:
Check with your admin: Speak to your workspace admin to see if an agreement is already being processed for your team.
Contact our Partnerships Team: If you are a decision-maker and want to discuss a contract for your service, please reach out to the team via partnerships@accurx.com.
What is the Test Patient Experience?
The Test Patient Experience is an environment where you can explore Accurx features using test patients instead of real patient records.
It is designed to give you a safe space to build confidence by:
Drafting and sending messages: Practice exactly how a message will look and feel to a patient.
Navigating Accurx: Explore the interface and features without worrying about affecting a real medical record.
FAQs
Why am I seeing test patients instead of real ones?
Why am I seeing test patients instead of real ones?
Accurx is committed to high standards of data governance. We provide access to real patient data (via the Personal Demographics Service) once a formal agreement is in place between your organisation and Accurx.
If you are unable to search for a real patient, it usually means:
Your organisation (e.g., your trust or service) may not have a formal agreement with Accurx yet.
To keep data protected, new users joining certain workspaces start with the Test Patient Experience by default until the organisation-wide agreement is finalised.
Your Accurx account may be unapproved under the workspace.
Why can my colleague see real patients, but I can't?
Why can my colleague see real patients, but I can't?
Access to real patient messaging is often determined by when you joined Accurx or which workspace you are currently using.
Existing Users: Users who have used Accurx for a long time may still have access to real patient data based on historical settings.
New Users: If you have recently joined a workspace that does not yet have a formal contract, you will automatically start on the Test Patient Experience.
Once your organisation has an active agreement with us, everyone in your workspace will automatically be upgraded to full access.
I have access in one workspace, but not another. Why?
I have access in one workspace, but not another. Why?
Access is managed at the workspace level. You may work across multiple sites:
In an established workspace, you will see real patient data.
In a newer or uncontracted workspace, you will see the Test Patient Experience.
Which features are affected by Test Patient Experience?
Which features are affected by Test Patient Experience?
If you're in the Test Patient Experience, the following features will be affected:
Sending patient messages (including viewing patient profile)
Sending GP messages
Patient Lists
Record View
Test Patient Messaging
1. When you start a new message via the 'New' button or the patient search icon, a test patient will automatically be selected.
2. Because you are using test patient data, you can test these features freely without any risk of using a real patient's profile.
Here you can enter your own mobile number or email address. This allows you to receive the message on your own device and see exactly what your patients will see 👇
Accessing the Accurx Inbox in Test Patient Experience
Once your messages have been sent, you will be able to view them in your Accurx inbox, along with every other message sent from the workspace.
You can access the Accurx inbox by selecting the 'Inbox' option at the top of your Accurx page 👇
To view only messages you've sent from your account, access the 'Sent & scheduled' tab within 'My inbox'.
If you still have any questions or concerns, feel free to chat with us using the green message bubble in the bottom right-hand corner of this page. 👉




