What is Record View?
Record View allows you to share a view-only summary of your GP medical record with another healthcare professional, for up to 24 hours.
How does Record View work?
The healthcare professional will make a request for your record through accuRx Web.
You will receive a text message notifying you that your record has been requested, with a unique 6 digit code, as in the picture below 👇
You will need to share this 6 digit code back with the healthcare professional
Once shared, they will be able to view a summary of your GP record for 24 hours. Once shared, they will be able to view a summary of your GP record for 24 hours.
What are the benefits of Record View for patients?
If you have to attend hospital or other healthcare services, the healthcare professional at that organisation may not have access to your medical history. This means they may have to contact your GP to get information, which can cause delays in getting relevant information for your care.
Record View is a secure platform that can allow healthcare professionals instant access (with your permission) to information about your medical history. This will help them to make the best clinical decisions for you.
With Record View, it is in your hands to give permission each time a healthcare professional makes a request for your record.
What if I am not expecting this message?
You should only be receiving this text message if you are aware that the healthcare professional or organisation mentioned in the message is involved in your care.
If you are not familiar with who this organisation is, or are unsure as to why they are asking to view your record, please do not share this code and contact us at email@example.com.
How do I share the code that I have received with my healthcare professional?
The healthcare professional who has requested to view your record will make a plan to get the code back from you. Either you will be present with them in a consultation, or they will contact you (e.g. via video or telephone) to get the code.
What information from my GP record is shared in the summary?
We have worked closely with healthcare professionals to determine what information to share to help clinicians provide the best care possible for their patients. Currently, the summary includes:
A list of your current & past medical conditions
A list of your current & past medications
Test results from the last 2 years, including blood tests and imaging reports
Smoking, Alcohol and BMI status
The contact details that your GP has for you
Your GP’s contact details
Note: We do not return any sensitive information in your record that relates to sexual health (e.g. sexually transmitted infections), In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF), gender reassignment or termination of pregnancies.
Can I limit what information is shared in my record?
At this stage, you can’t elect to make certain aspects of their record viewable or not. Only the summary above will be shared. We do not share your full GP record.
If you have any concerns about a healthcare professional viewing your record, you can simply deny the request by not providing the code or get in contact with us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Am I able to see my own record through Record View?
No, Record View is only available to healthcare professionals involved in your direct care. You cannot view your own record with Record View.
Is my data safe?
Yes, your data is safe, and accuRx follows strict data protection policies to ensure this. Record View meets the Information Governance standards of national bodies, and was developed in consultation with the NHS's former National Data Guardian, Dame Fiona Caldicott. You can read her correspondence in full here.
Read more on IG and data security here
Will my GP know when my record has been accessed by another healthcare professional?
Your GP will still remain in control of your record, and will receive a live audit trail showing which other healthcare professionals have requested to view your record. They will see the name and email address of the healthcare professional, and the organization they are from.
What if I have already opted out of data sharing?
You will receive a text message each time a healthcare professional, outside of your GP practice requests to view the summary of your GP record. If you have opted out of data sharing and do not want the healthcare professional to view this summary, you should not share the code you receive in the text message. Without access to this code, the requesting healthcare professional cannot view your record.
If you change your mind, you can give permission by sharing the code with them.