Deleting Photos in Accurx Desktop
Desktop users can delete a photo once it has been received, so that it is not visible to colleagues viewing the patient’s communication record. However, an audit trail will remain (see below for further information).
You can do this by clicking the delete icon (highlighted in red) next to a photo you've received into your inbox 👇
Deletion from the audit trail
Photos sent using the Accurx platform - in Accurx Desktop or in Accurx Web - are protected with the same high security standards we use across the platform, and copies form part of an audit trail controlled by the practice. They are retained for periods in line with the NHS Records Management Code of Practice for Health and Social Care. We follow NHS Digital Information Governance Standards that require us to verify amendments to that audit trail (specifically GP-IG-11-3 and GP-IG-11-4).
In line with the NHS Digital IG standards, but we will physically (i.e. permanently and completely) delete a photo from the audit trail in response to 1) a valid physical deletion request from the provider (see below), or 2) court orders or other legislative requirements.
A valid request to delete a photo
In line with the IG Standard, this must take the form of a specifically authenticated and validated written request from an organisation’s Caldicott Guardian or Privacy Officer, co-signed by a senior clinical representative.
You can send this request to email@example.com. They may ask you for more information to make sure the request can be validated and carried out. Our Information Governance team will task a senior engineer with securely deleting the image without viewing it. A record of this action and the written request for it are retained in a secure log by Accurx.
Any questions, please chat to us in the bottom right or send us an email to firstname.lastname@example.org 😊