Photos in accuRx Desktop

Desktop users can delete a photo once it has been received, so that it is not visible to colleagues viewing the patient’s communication record. However, an audit trail will remain (see below for further information).

You can do this by clicking the delete icon (highlighted in red) next to a photo you've received into your inbox 👇

Deletion from the audit trail

Photos sent using the accuRx platform - in accuRx Desktop or in accuRx Web - are protected with the same high security standards we use for all data. We follow NHS Digital Information Governance Standards that require us to keep records following the Records Management Code of Practice for Health and Social Care 2016 and retain an audit trail of all data that passes through our communication platform (specifically GP-IG-11-3 and GP-IG-11-4). This audit trail includes images.

Practices remain in control of these images in the audit trail. In line with the NHS Digital IG standards, we will physically (i.e. permanently and completely) delete a photo in this way in response to 1) a valid physical deletion request from the provider, or 2) court orders or other legislative requirements.

A valid request to delete a photo

This must take the form of a specifically authenticated and validated written request from an organisation’s Caldicott Guardian or Privacy Officer, co-signed by a senior clinical representative.

You can send this request to support@accurx.com. They may ask you for more information to make sure the request can be validated and carried out. Our Information Governance team will task a senior engineer with securely delete the image without viewing it. A record of this action and the written request for it are retained in a secure log by accuRx.

Any questions, please chat to us in the bottom right or send us an email to support@accurx.com 😊

Did this answer your question?